Lady Antebellum – On This Winter’s Night

Here’s another album that I listened to specifically for the Christmas Album Countdown. I’ve only been a very casual listener of Lady Antebellum in the past, which basically means I knew the couple of songs that were played on my local Top 40 radio station (and that only until my classical station came back on the air). But I knew I liked their sound the first time I heard them, so I thought On This Winter’s Night would be a good album for this series.

I was right. For one thing, there’s a lot of balance on this album. There are songs that feature male vocals and others that feature female vocals. There are upbeat tunes like the opening track, “A Holly Jolly Christmas,” which I was immediately singing along to, and there are romantic ballads like their take on “All I Want For Christmas Is You.” There are the generic holiday songs like “Let It Snow,” and there are the overtly religious carols like “The First Noel.” I think my favorite track of all is the title song, “On This Winter’s Night,” which describes both the love we feel towards each other at this time of year and the love God showed to us in sending his Son. What a pleasant surprise from Lady A.

3 thoughts on “Lady Antebellum – On This Winter’s Night

  1. Pingback: Casting Crowns – Peace On Earth | Perfect Harmonies

  2. Pingback: Glad – An Acapella Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

  3. Pingback: Michael Bublé – Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

Leave a Reply

