Idina Menzel – Holiday Wishes

If I could pick a singer-actress to be my best friend, I would definitely choose Idina Menzel. Every time I’ve seen her performances in movies or heard her sing, I always notice how spunky and energetic she seems. Her singing is fantastic too. She has a powerful, healthy, and real voice (no autotune necessary here), but it’s not overly manufactured. So I was really excited to see that she released a Christmas album this year. I can even sing along to it, which, as you all know by now, is a very important factor in my evaluation of albums. And call me weird, but I really enjoy listening to Broadway singers, at least the non-obnoxious ones. So in short, I love this album.

There are some classics on here, like “Do You Hear What I Hear,” “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas,” “Silent Night,” and “White Christmas.” There are also a few unusual, fun gems, like “All I Want For Christmas Is You” and “December Prayer.” It definitely wouldn’t be a proper Christmas album without “Baby It’s Cold Outside,” and Idina is joined by Michael Bublé in this rendition. They do some cute bantering during the instrumental interludes that makes me laugh and spices up a song that, quite honestly, I’m already getting tired of.

I think the coolest track on the album is her cover of Joni Mitchell’s “River.” It’s a beautiful song, if a little too melancholy for me during this very jolly season, but she sings it absolutely beautifully.

This whole album sparkles with Idina’s personality… and I don’t know about you, but I think it’s for the best that she left “Let It Go” off the set list.

13 thoughts on “Idina Menzel – Holiday Wishes

  1. Pingback: Kristin Chenoweth – A Lovely Way to Spend Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

  2. Pingback: Casting Crowns – Peace On Earth | Perfect Harmonies

  3. Pingback: Glad – An Acapella Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

  4. Pingback: Michael Bublé – Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

  5. Pingback: Lady Antebellum – On This Winter’s Night | Perfect Harmonies

  6. Pingback: Beach Boys – Christmas With the Beach Boys | Perfect Harmonies

  7. Pingback: Weezer – Christmas With Weezer | Perfect Harmonies

  8. Pingback: London Philharmonic – Messiah | Perfect Harmonies

  9. Pingback: She & Him – A Very She & Him Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

  10. Pingback: Straight No Chaser – Christmas Cheers | Perfect Harmonies

  11. Pingback: Point of Grace – A Christmas Story | Perfect Harmonies

  12. Pingback: The Cambridge Singers – The John Rutter Christmas Album | Perfect Harmonies

  13. Pingback: Frank Sinatra – A Jolly Christmas From Frank Sinatra | Perfect Harmonies

Leave a Reply

