Josh Groban – Noel

I’m not too proud to admit that I absolutely love Josh Groban. I’m not a middle-aged woman, nor do I harbor any misguided thoughts that he is an actual opera singer, but his voice is delightful and he is a fantastic performer. Not that you can tell by listening to a CD, but I’ve seen him live twice, so I think that my opinion counts for something.

For the first few years of my Josh Groban fandom, all I wanted was to hear his lovely voice singing my favorite Christmas songs. I finally got that chance in 2007, when he released his Christmas album, Noel. (Incidentally, that was also the year I found out that Josh was a family friend of two of my college professors. What.)

There’s nothing not to love about this album. Baritone voices are my favorite to listen to, and Josh’s is warm and not overly “operatic.” Each song on the album seems entirely appropriate for the genre and for him, even though there are plenty of unique features as well. In “Little Drummer Boy,” Josh is accompanied by Andy McKee on guitar, which is a cool change from the usual piano or orchestra. “Home For Christmas” begins with sound bytes of military men and women wishing their families and friends a merry Christmas from far away (this album was released in 2007). And one of my favorites, “The First Noel,” is actually a duet with Faith Hill.

Even if you don’t usually listen to Josh Groban, I encourage you to check out this album. I bet you’ll like it more than you expect.

15 thoughts on “Josh Groban – Noel

  1. Pingback: Casting Crowns – Peace On Earth | Perfect Harmonies

  2. Pingback: Glad – An Acapella Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

  3. Pingback: Michael Bublé – Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

  4. Pingback: Lady Antebellum – On This Winter’s Night | Perfect Harmonies

  5. Pingback: Beach Boys – Christmas With the Beach Boys | Perfect Harmonies

  6. Pingback: Kristin Chenoweth – A Lovely Way to Spend Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

  7. Pingback: Weezer – Christmas With Weezer | Perfect Harmonies

  8. Pingback: London Philharmonic – Messiah | Perfect Harmonies

  9. Pingback: She & Him – A Very She & Him Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

  10. Pingback: Straight No Chaser – Christmas Cheers | Perfect Harmonies

  11. Pingback: Point of Grace – A Christmas Story | Perfect Harmonies

  12. Pingback: The Cambridge Singers – The John Rutter Christmas Album | Perfect Harmonies

  13. Pingback: Frank Sinatra – A Jolly Christmas From Frank Sinatra | Perfect Harmonies

  14. Pingback: Idina Menzel – Holiday Wishes | Perfect Harmonies

  15. Pingback: The Muppets – A Green and Red Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

Leave a Reply

