Kelly Clarkson – Wrapped In Red

As you may recall, part of the deal with this series was that I check out some new Christmas albums to add to my holiday playlist. Kelly Clarkson’s Wrapped in Red is one of the new albums I chose, and I have to say that as much as I love Kelly Clarkson’s music and think she’s fabulously talented, I honestly didn’t love this album.

I turned on this album on Spotify while decorating the tree last night, and after hearing two thirds of the songs, T said, “I don’t recognize most of these songs. Are they new or something?” He’s right. There aren’t that many classic Christmas songs to be found on the album. In fact, out of fourteen tracks, literally half had titles I didn’t recognize and ended up being songs that were brand new to me. That’s great and all, but I personally want to be able to sing along to a good Christmas album, especially when the singer has a similar vocal range to me, like Kelly. (She also has an excellent name.)

That’s not to say that I haven’t discovered new Christmas music for my library. Kelly’s “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” is beautifully classic, as is “White Christmas,” and it was fun to listen to her rendition of “Blue Christmas.” There are also a couple of nice ballads on here, like “Please Come Home For Christmas (Bells Will Be Ringing)” and “Winter Dreams (Brandon’s Song)”, and it wouldn’t be a Kelly Clarkson album without a token family-angst song like “Just For Now.” I particularly enjoyed “Silent Night,” the last track on the album, featuring Reba McEntire and Trisha Yearwood along with Kelly herself.

Instead of listening to the entire album every year, I’ll probably be adding my favorites to my shuffle-friendly holiday playlist. Seems fair.

18 thoughts on “Kelly Clarkson – Wrapped In Red

  1. Pingback: Casting Crowns – Peace On Earth | Perfect Harmonies

  2. Pingback: Glad – An Acapella Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

  3. Pingback: Michael Bublé – Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

  4. Pingback: Lady Antebellum – On This Winter’s Night | Perfect Harmonies

  5. Pingback: Beach Boys – Christmas With the Beach Boys | Perfect Harmonies

  6. Pingback: Kristin Chenoweth – A Lovely Way to Spend Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

  7. Pingback: Weezer – Christmas With Weezer | Perfect Harmonies

  8. Pingback: London Philharmonic – Messiah | Perfect Harmonies

  9. Pingback: She & Him – A Very She & Him Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

  10. Pingback: Straight No Chaser – Christmas Cheers | Perfect Harmonies

  11. Pingback: Point of Grace – A Christmas Story | Perfect Harmonies

  12. Pingback: The Cambridge Singers – The John Rutter Christmas Album | Perfect Harmonies

  13. Pingback: Frank Sinatra – A Jolly Christmas From Frank Sinatra | Perfect Harmonies

  14. Pingback: Idina Menzel – Holiday Wishes | Perfect Harmonies

  15. Pingback: The Muppets – A Green and Red Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

  16. Pingback: Josh Groban – Noel | Perfect Harmonies

  17. Pingback: Michael W. Smith – Christmas | Perfect Harmonies

Leave a Reply

