Friday Favorites: Cafe Legato

Ah, Cafe Legato. With a name like that, how could I not love it?

Shockingly enough, this place was discovered by my non-musician brother. His hipster soul was drawn by its relative obscurity, while I of course come back time after time for the classical music theme. Located only a few freeway exits south of my house, it has quickly evolved into my favorite work spot.

IMG_5943

Not just coffee. It’s the experience. But the coffee is great too.

You notice the classical music theme as soon as you walk in the door. The walls are decorated with paintings of composers and performers, framed bits of sheet music, and posters. There’s even a piano along one wall. They also have some cute branded merchandise, and one of these days I will bite the bullet and get myself a Cafe Legato mug.

IMG_5947

IMG_5948

When you go to order, you can choose from a whole list of “normal” cafe beverages, as well as speciality drinks like the Vivaldi’s Winter, Staccato Freeze, Amaretto Overture, Symphony Delight, and Chai Quartet. They also have a small selection of pastries, and patrons benefit from free, no-log-in-required wifi. The best part is, you can use your FiveStars membership card here and earn points towards a free drink. (I earned mine today!)

My vanilla chai latte helping me get through a morning of church choir organizing, blog writing, and opera planning.

My vanilla chai latte helping me get through a morning of church choir organizing, blog writing, and opera planning.

I don’t have many complaints about Legato, but if I had to give one critique, it would be the staff. They tend to come across a bit unfriendly and unsociable. This is exactly the kind of place where I could see myself being a “regular” and making friends with the owners, but they never seem interested in making even the smallest of talk over the register. I’ve tried more than once, so I don’t think it’s me. (They were also giving me weird, suspicious looks while I was snapping the few photos in this post, so I apologize for the less-than-stellar quality of them.)

The good news is, the coffee is delicious and it’s a quiet place where I can come to work and feel surrounded by the music that inspires me. I just wish more people knew about it!

Bay Areans, have you ever been to Cafe Legato? Let’s go sometime!

Leave a Reply

