#GIRLBOSS: What I Loved and What I Didn’t

Sophia Amoruso’s book #GIRLBOSS has been taking the blogging world by storm lately. Even the title itself caters directly to social media-savvy 20’s-30’s female bloggers. As a somewhat social media-savvy 27-year-old female blogger, I decided I had to give it a read.

GIRLBOSS

#GIRLBOSS is the story of Sophia’s journey from broke, uncertain beginnings to running a multimillion-dollar corporation called Nasty Gal, a vintage and designer fashion retailer. She devotes the first four chapters to telling her tale with a colorful and hilarious vocabulary, and the rest of the book is a compilation of her advice to the aspiring #GIRLBOSS. Her words of wisdom include thoughts on saving money, positive thinking, creativity, and practical aspects of getting and keeping a job. Without giving too much away, here are some of my favorite quotes from the book.

“Abandon anything about your life and habits that might be holding you back. Learn to create your own opportunities. Know that there is no finish line; fortune favors action.” (14)

“When you approach everything as if it’s a big, fun experiment, then it’s not that big of a deal if things don’t work out. If the plan changes, that can be even better.” (65)

“We’re Internet kids who have been spoiled by our desires being no more than a click away. We think fast, type fast, move fast, and expect everything else to happen just as fast. . . .But, like everything, you’ve got to work for what you want.” (66)

“When your time spent making money is significantly greater than your time spent spending money, you will be amazed at how much you can save without even really thinking about it.” (109)

“The average American only saves 6.5 percent of his or her income, which is barely keeping up with inflation. But you, dear #GIRLBOSS, should save 10 percent at the bare minimum. I know it’s a lot easier to talk about saving money than it is to actually save it. Here’s a tip: Treat your savings account like just another bill. It has to be paid every month, or there are consequences.” (111)

“One of the best things about life–a reason not to go blindly after one goal and one goal only–is that sometimes it will take you to something that is way cooler than anything you would have consciously set out to do in the first place.” (124)

Now granted, there were some things I didn’t love about this book. The biggest issue I had was that I just couldn’t relate to Sophia as a person. She describes herself as a rebel, a perpetual rule breaker, a loner who hated school, questioned authority, and didn’t care what people thought of her. Those are pretty much the exact opposites of how I would describe myself, so it was tough for me to see how her life choices and consequent success could translate into my own life and my goals. Call me narrow-minded I guess, but I like to read and hear about people who are similar to me and who have managed to create their own successes, because it makes me feel like I can create mine too.

I also didn’t feel like anything she had to say was revolutionary. It was encouraging, but not super inspirational or earth-shattering. The concepts of “don’t worry about what other people think of you” and “you have to work hard to get what you want” aren’t exactly new ideas. That said, I’m sure everyone can find a few points in the book that apply to and resonate with them.

Have you read this book? Did it inspire you on your journey to becoming a #GIRLBOSS?

3 thoughts on “#GIRLBOSS: What I Loved and What I Didn’t

  1. Pingback: October Goals: Mid-Month Check-In | Perfect Harmonies

Leave a Reply

