Stitch Fix, Round Two

A few months ago I hopped onto the Stitch Fix bandwagon. In case you need a refresher, Stitch Fix is a subscription box that allows you to decide when you want to get your next one. You fill out an extensive style profile, link up your Pinterest board for inspiration, and a stylist compiles a box of five items for you based on your size and style preferences.

I received my second Fix in the mail today. Admittedly, I am probably too low on funds right now to have justified it, and T is probably going to give me a disapproving look and shake his head at me when he sees this post. But I think in a way I dodged a bullet, because this Fix wasn’t nearly as exciting or spot on as my first one.

Opening up the box is always exciting, like having a mini-Christmas.

Opening up the box is always exciting, like having a mini-Christmas.

I received a pair of black skinny jeans, a dress, two tops, and a knit jacket in this Fix.

IMG_5873

I wish these hadn’t been too small. I love stretchy skinny jeans, and I would love to add a pair of black ones to my closet. Bummer.

IMG_5872

It seems like the “in” style right now is loose and drapey, which is great if you have a tiny chest, but if you’re more like me, drapey tops just make you look huge, especially when combined with an elastic waist. Plus the neckline was too low and I didn’t love the pleated skirt.

IMG_5871

I had a similar issue with this top as with the dress. It was too loose-fitting to be flattering on me. Ah well. It does fit in with my taste for clothes that are feminine and romantic, so my stylist didn’t get it totally wrong.

IMG_5870

I actually almost ended up keeping this top, despite the looseness. In the end though, I decided it was kind of plain. If it had had some kind of embellishment on it, maybe sequins or a rosette on one of the shoulders or something, I would probably have loved it and kept it.

IMG_5869

This knit jacket ended up being the only winner from this Fix. It fits me the way I like, it has a fun asymmetrical zipper and big wide collar, and it’s warm enough for my freezing cold office while still being lightweight enough for our mild Bay Area winters. Plus it replaces a jacket of similar style that I’ve had for several years but is now too big for me. Hello Poshmark!

IMG_5867

IMG_5868

Note: This is not a sponsored post. However, if I have convinced you to give Stitch Fix a try, please use my link so that I can get a credit towards my next Fix!

Leave a Reply

