Irrational Fears

Today I’m participating in a link-up hosted by Casey at We Took the Road Less Traveled. She prompted us to share three of our irrational fears, so here we go…

1) If you’ve been following me since May, you know that one of my biggest fears is Ferris wheels. It makes absolutely no sense, but they freak me out and make my stomach turn. I’m proud to say I took a huge step toward overcoming this fear when I rode the London Eye earlier this summer.

Take that, demon machine!

Take that, demon machine!

2) I really hate being home alone overnight. It doesn’t happen often, but on the rare occasion when it does, I triple-check the locks on the front door and keep the TV on until the last possible second before I go to bed, just to hear another human voice. Even so, I get super jittery once it’s completely quiet and there is no one else in the house. The cats aren’t usually much comfort either. Also, T is going on a short-term missions trip with our church next February and I’m already dreading him being gone for a week.

3) This one has gotten a lot better over the past few years, but I get unnecessarily nervous about driving long distances by myself, especially when it’s dark or I’m tired. I take more precautions than necessary: tons of coffee and snacks and water and music on my iPod… you get the idea. I don’t actively try to avoid long solo drives, but I do get a little pit in my stomach before making drives that are more than a few hours long, if I don’t have any travel buddies.

How I feel about driving by myself for many hours at a time: strongly "meh."

How I feel about driving by myself for many hours at a time: strongly “meh.”

Now that I’ve written them out, I notice that two of my three biggest fears are directly related to being alone. Clearly I am very needy when it comes to social contact.

Anyway, what about you? What are your biggest fears?

2 thoughts on “Irrational Fears

  1. I am so glad to learn that I’m not the only one who’s got a slight phobia about driving! I’m also not a huge fan of being by myself overnight…but with a military husband, I’ve learned to live with it. I’m home alone at night more often than I’d like!

    Thanks so much for linking up today…and have a fab weekend!

  2. Pingback: The List List | Perfect Harmonies

Leave a Reply

