Throwback Thursday: Cousins

When we were growing up, my brother and I were extremely lucky to have a group of cousins who were our own age. Considering that we lived scattered all over NorCal and only saw each other a handful of times per year, we were all surprisingly close. Our shenanigans involved the usual kid stuff: make-believe, board games, arts and crafts, and entire weekend camping trips of speaking only in Pig Latin to each other. And because of our unique family makeup and dynamics, our gatherings also included Mr. Bean marathons, C. S. Lewis book clubs, and spontaneous singing of eight-part harmonies.

As fun as those times were, I’m even more pleased to say that none of these things have gone away as we’ve all grown into adults. We don’t see each other as often as we would like, but we’re all still close enough to make it a point to connect with each other as much as possible, for important life events (like new babies, or the passing of our grandfather last October) as well as random daily occurrences. Some of us even get together to sing and make music fairly regularly.

Recently my brother dug up these photos from the “golden days” of our cousinhood (I know that’s not a real word, but it is now). To me, they go together as a pair really well.

This one, clearly staged, shows us all wearing outfits made by our grandmother. It's us as "the grandchildren."

This one, clearly staged, shows us all wearing outfits made by our grandmother. It’s us as “the grandchildren.”

This one, on the other hand, is much more typical of our relationship with each other. I think it represents us as "the cousins."

This one, on the other hand, is much more typical of our relationship with each other. I think it represents us as “the cousins.”

As you can probably tell, my cousins were an integral part of my life when I was young, and they still are today. I really hope to be able to give my future kids the same kind of built-in friendships with their cousins that I had with mine.

What about you? Were your cousins special to you?

One thought on “Throwback Thursday: Cousins

  1. Pingback: Happy Blog-iversary! | Perfect Harmonies

Leave a Reply

