My First Stitch Fix

I’m probably the last person in the blog world to get on the subscription box train. I’ve always been intrigued by the idea of them, but I’ve never really been excited to fork over a flat rate every month with the chance that I wouldn’t like what I got.

When I heard about Stitch Fix, though, it sounded like a good option. The flat rate is $20 per box (or “Fix”), and you don’t have to get one every month. In fact, you get to decide when to get one, which automatically made it more appealing to me. Plus it’s clothing and accessories, which are pretty much guaranteed to cost more than $20 in a store anyway, and that $20 is applied towards the cost of any of the items you decide to keep. After you get your Fix, you have three days to decide what you want, go online and complete the transaction by paying your balance, and send back any items you don’t want in the prepaid postage bag that they include in the box.

During the sign-up process, you fill out a long style profile, where you can enter all the sizes you wear of every type of clothing imaginable, your body type, your style preferences, and more. Then you select the date that you want to receive your first Fix. I filled out the profile, entered my credit card information, and received my first Fix in the mail today, much to my soprano squealing excitement.

The box, so full of mystery and potential!

The box, so full of mystery and potential!

When I opened the box after it had been thoroughly sniffed by Nigel cat, I found several different packages and cards inside. It felt like Christmas.

The inside of the box.

The inside of the box.

I opened the packages to find a pair of skinny jeans, a polka dot dress, a black slouchy cardigan, a ruffled blouse, and a pair of earrings, all of which were absolutely adorable.

IMG_5495

IMG_5492

IMG_5491

IMG_5493

IMG_5496

And now, the verdict!

Jeans: Perfect fit, including the length (which is a miracle, considering I’m only 5’2″). I loved the indigo wash, and I’ve never been able to find a pair of skinny jeans I’m happy with. Plus I’m down to two pairs of jeans total at the moment because all of my Express jeans have ripped in the exact same spot. I’ll be keeping the jeans.

Dress: So cute, and totally my style, but it was pretty tight in the waist and bust. I’ll be returning the dress.

Cardigan: It fits great in the arms and shoulders. Normally I look for cardigans that hit at my waist, because I try to avoid making my butt look any bigger than it is or drawing attention to it. I like this sweater, but I’m not sure I love it enough to spend the money, so I’m going to wait and see what T’s opinion is when he gets home this evening.

Top: Cute style and color, but it doesn’t look great on me. When your chest is as big as mine, anything that’s not at least somewhat form-fitting makes you look huge. Maybe a smaller size would look better, but regardless, I’ll be returning the top.

Earrings: Love. They are romantic and sparkly, two of my favorite style adjectives. I’ll definitely be keeping them.

Have you ever tried Stitch Fix? If not, would you ever want to try it?

Note: This is not a sponsored post.

One thought on “My First Stitch Fix

  1. Pingback: Stitch Fix, Round Two | Perfect Harmonies

Leave a Reply

