France: Paris Landmarks – Religion, Risqué, and Really Yummy Hot Chocolate

I love movies. Who doesn’t? And many of my favorite movies take place in Paris, one of the most romantic and photogenic cities in the world.

To prepare myself for Paris, I watched The Hunchback of Notre-Dame and Moulin Rouge, two of my favorite movies of all time, knowing that I would try to visit the locations featured in each respective movie. I didn’t go into either one (for very different reasons), but I did manage to photograph each one to prove that I had at least been there.

Notre-Dame from the side.

Notre-Dame from the side.

I had a hard time not singing songs from the movie the entire time I was there.

I had a hard time not singing songs from the movie the entire time I was there.

IMG_5057

Same story at the Moulin Rouge.

IMG_5059

Another highlight of Paris’s film scene is the hot chocolate bar/teahouse called Angelina. Though it has never been the subject or location for a movie, it has been frequented by the likes of Audrey Hepburn, which put it on the glamor map.

The entrance to Angelina.

The entrance to Angelina.

The place was absolutely adorable, though the tea room was a little run-down and in need of some new paint. It had a gift shop in front with the tea room behind it, which was where my friends and I headed for a mid-morning treat. We ordered two pitchers of the signature hot chocolate as well as some pastries, and we were far from disappointed. The hot chocolate was incredibly thick and rich, almost as if they had simply melted down chocolate cooking squares and poured it straight into a pitcher for us to drink. We couldn’t finish all of it, but I wish I could have brought some home with me or posted a taste of it to this blog so you could experience it for yourselves.

IMG_5224

One thought on “France: Paris Landmarks – Religion, Risqué, and Really Yummy Hot Chocolate

  1. Pingback: 2014: Looking Back | Perfect Harmonies

Leave a Reply

