Plum Paper Designs: A Gift From the Organizational Gods

No, I don’t really believe that there are organizational gods. It was just a good post title.

Anywho. Like many of you, I live a ridiculously busy life. When I say “ridiculously,” I actually mean that it’s comical how busy I am. Some people have weekends; I just have “days when I’m not in the office.” And while others work 9-5 jobs with evenings at home, a 7am to 10pm day is a regular occurrence for me.

In short, I have to be organized or I will die.

Ever since I was in elementary school, my life’s organizational method has always involved a bound daily planner and a pencil (note: never a pen. I’m a trained musician). T sometimes lovingly ridicules me for sticking with my old-school system instead of going electronic––after all, I do own several iOS devices. But to me, this is too important a part of my life to change. It’s always worked for me in the past, so I’m sticking with it. Plus, you know, pretty paper products!

Which brings me to the actual point of today’s post: the planner itself.

For several years now, I have purchased year planners from various bookstores or office supply stores. I’m extremely picky about my planners––they have to have enough room to write on each day, have a layout that makes sense to my brain and eyes, include only 12 months instead of 18, etc. etc. Every year, I’ve had to come to accept that my perfect planner simply does not exist, and I always just go with the least objectionable option.

And then I stumbled upon Ginny’s blog, A Modern Commonplace Book, and her review of these planners by Plum Paper Designs. Lightbulb to “on.”

(Honestly, I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I had never thought of ordering a planner off of Etsy. We’re going to call the last few years of my organizational life “the dark ages” and move on.)

After reading Ginny’s glowing description of these wonderful and necessary life managers, I decided to bite the bullet and design one for myself. I chose the “Family Planner” because of the ability to create my own seven sections for each week based on my own needs. I ended up going with Anytime, Morning, Afternoon, Evening, Dinner, Practice, and Teaching. This combination seemed to fit my daily and weekly needs the best. I was also able to decide when to have my planner start (I chose June) and how many months I wanted it to be (I chose 13, to have it last through the end of June 2015). Finally, I selected from the many adorable options for the cover design.

I placed my order a few weeks ago, and my beautiful new planner arrived in my mailbox this morning.

Image

ImageAs you can see, I’ve already started filling it up. You may also notice that I am indeed ridiculously busy, and that’s just what I already have booked in June. Would I lie to you?

All in all, this seems to be the perfect option for me. I can tailor-make it to fit my real-life needs, and it has the best layout of any planner I’ve ever had. Check them out for yourselves, busy friends, and have fun!

Note: I am not being compensated for this post in any way by Plum Paper Designs. I’m just an excited customer!

3 thoughts on “Plum Paper Designs: A Gift From the Organizational Gods

  1. Are we the same person? lol I’m always on the hunt for the perfect planner! Going to check this one out now. By the way, how big is your planner? From the pic I’m assuming 8 1/2 x 11 but that seems huge!

Leave a Reply

