Dream Vacations: Italy

I follow a bunch of different travel blogs, and I’m always so envious of everyone’s amazing adventures! T and I made it to Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, in February, and it was awesome. It wasn’t a place that would have been high on our travel bucket list if we didn’t have some good friends living there, but we had a blast.

Travel is truly addicting, isn’t it? Once you get started, you just have to keep doing it. I have a whole list of dream travel destinations that I’ll be sharing with you, and what better place to start than…

Image

Yep, the entire country of Italy. When I was twelve I spent a couple of weeks there with my family, but back then I didn’t appreciate opera or wine, and I didn’t speak Italian. All of those things have changed in the past fourteen years (and aren’t we all glad), so I’m dying for a chance to go back. The specifics of my to-do list include both things I have already done and would love to do again, and things I can’t miss out on the second time around:

  • See an opera at La Scala in Milan (obviously this is number one!)
  • See the Last Supper painting, also in Milan
  • Visit Juliet’s home in Verona
  • Spend a few days and nights on the island of Capri
  • Check out the Villa d’Este and its fountains in Tivoli (listen to Franz Liszt’s gorgeous piano piece inspired by them here)
  • Spend time wandering around Venice and enjoying the fact that the streets are water
  • Hike to/visit Cinque Terre
  • Return to Rome and see the Colosseum and the Roman Forum
  • Climb the dome in St. Peter’s Basilica
  • Buy some jewelry on the Ponte Vecchio
  • Throw a coin in the Trevi Fountain
  • Invest in art from Florence or the glass-blowing factory on the island of Murano
  • Visit Pompeii and learn about the erupting of Mount Vesuvius
  • Swim in the Mediterranean Sea
  • Picnic in the Siena countryside

What did I leave off this list? I welcome your suggestions!

2 thoughts on “Dream Vacations: Italy

  1. Pingback: Travel Bucket List | Perfect Harmonies

Leave a Reply

